

G/SG/N/11/ZAF/5/Suppl.3.

9 November 2021

Page: 1/3

Committee on Safeguards

(21 - 8464)

Original: English

NOTIFICATION PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 9, FOOTNOTE 2, OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

SOUTH AFRICA

Threaded fasteners of iron and steel bolt ends & screw studs, screw studding and other hexagon nuts (excluding those of stainless steel and those identifiable for aircraft)

Supplement

The following communication, dated and received on 8 November 2021, is being circulated at the request of the delegation of South Africa.

Pursuant to footnote 2 of Article 9.1 of the Agreement on Safeguards, the Government of South Africa hereby gives notification on amendment of developing country members excluded from the safeguard measures by omission of Belarus, Indonesia and Turkey from the list.

The measure is as follows:

Period	Rate of safeguard measure
24 July 2020-23 July 2021	54.04%
24 July 2021-23 July 2022	52.04%
24 July 2022- 23 July 2023	50.04%

The subject product is described as bolt ends & screw studs (classifiable under tariff subheading 7318.15.41), screw studding (classifiable under tariff subheading 7318.15.42) and other hexagon nuts (classifiable under tariff subheading 7318.16.30) of iron and steel (excluding those of stainless steel and those identifiable for aircraft).

The Commission considered that the imports of the subject products from Belarus, Indonesia and Turkey for the period 25 July 2020-30 June 2021 were higher than 3% of total imports for the full year period considered in the investigation initiated on 01 March 2019. Below is the list of developing countries excluded from safeguard duty for the remainder of the period that the safeguard duties are in place.

- 2 -

DEVELOPING COUNTRIES TO BE EXCLUDED FROM THE DUTY

Afghanistan	Madagascar
Albania	Malawi
Algeria	Latvia
American Samoa	Lebanon
Angola	Maldives
Antigua and Barbuda	Mali
Argentina	Marshall Islands
Armenia	Mauritania
Azerbaijan	Mauritius
Bangladesh	Mexico
Bahrain, Kingdom of	Micronesia, Fed. States of
XXXXXXXX	Moldova, Republic of
Belize	Mongolia
Benin	Montenegro
Bhutan	Morocco
Brunei Darussalam	Mozambique
Bolivia, Plur. State of	Myanmar
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Namibia
Botswana	Nepal
Brazil	Nicaragua
Bulgaria	Niger
Burkina Faso	Nigeria
Burundi	North Macedonia
Cabo Verde	Oman
Cambodia	Pakistan
Cameroon	Palestine
Central African Republic	Palau
Chad	Panama
Chile	Papua New Guinea
Colombia	Paraguay
Comoros	Peru
Costa Rica	Philippines
Côte d'Ivoire	Qatar
Cuba	Romania
Democratic Republic of the Congo	Russian Federation
Congo Republic	Rwanda
Djibouti Dominica	Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of St. Kitts and Nevis
	St. Lucia
Dominican Republic Ecuador	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Egypt, Arab Rep.	Sao Tome and Principe
El Salvador	Samoa
FILTOS	
Eritrea Eswatini	Senegal
Eswatini	Senegal Seychelles
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia Ghana	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan Sri Lanka
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia Ghana Grenada	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia Ghana	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guinea	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Syrian Arab Republic
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Syrian Arab Republic Tajikistan
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guinea Guinea Guinea Guyana	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Syrian Arab Republic Tajikistan Tanzania Timor-Leste
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guinea Guinea Haiti	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Syrian Arab Republic Tajjkistan Tanzania Timor-Leste Togo
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Honduras xxxxxxxx	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Syrian Arab Republic Tajikistan Tanzania Timor-Leste
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guinea Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Honduras xxxxxxxx Iran, Islamic Rep. of	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Syrian Arab Republic Tajikistan Tanzania Timor-Leste Togo Thailand Tonga
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Honduras xxxxxxxx	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Syrian Arab Republic Tajikistan Tanzania Timor-Leste Togo Thailand
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Honduras xxxxxxxx Iran, Islamic Rep. of Iraq	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Syrian Arab Republic Tajikistan Tanzania Timor-Leste Togo Thailand Tonga Trinidad and Tobago
Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Fiji Gabon The Gambia Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Honduras xxxxxxxx Iran, Islamic Rep. of Iraq Jamaica	Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands Serbia Somalia South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Syrian Arab Republic Tajikistan Tanzania Timor-Leste Togo Thailand Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia

Kenya	Tuvalu
Kiribati	Uganda
Korea, Democ. P. Republic of	Ukraine
Kyrgyz Republic	United Arab Emirates
Kosovo	Uruguay
Kuwait, the State of	Uzbekistan
Lao People's Dem. Republic	Vietnam
Lebanon	Vanuatu
Lesotho	Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of
Liberia	West Bank and Gaza
Libya	Yemen
Lithuania	Zambia
	Zimbabwe